Catalina Grand Marshals

Catalina Grand Iviarshais		
1959	Puke Kahanamoku	1924 Olympic gold medalist & surfing legend
1960- 63	Sammy Miller	underwriter of California teams
1965	Toots Minvielle	founder of Molokai race & Ca outrigger paddling
1971	John Wayne	film star, friend of Hawaii
1972	Dick Smothers	comedian/musician
1977	Burt Hickson	owner of Wherehouse restaurant
1979	Herb Sutton	owner/editor Newport Ensign
1980	Toots Minvielle	founder of Molokai race & Ca outrigger paddling
1981	Alan Rypinski	entrepreneur, founder of ArmorALL
1982	Betty Cook	Offshore power boat racer, research/development of canoe design
1983	Buddy Ebson	Actor
1984	Bill Ficker	America's Cup winner
1985	Pete Coors	avid sponsor and paddler
1986	John Bernards	sponsor/co-founder of Offshore Canoe Club
1987	Marion Bergesson	California House of Representative
1988	Bill Hamilton	restaurateur and race sponsor for the Cannery Race
1989	Louie Kahanamoku	co-founder California outrigger paddling
1990	Mary Jane Kahanamoku	Secretary General IPCF
1991	Lorrin & Cecilia Harrison	founder Dana CC, 1st steersman for Cali Catalina crew
1992	John Aylsworth	President of Sports Club Irvine & sponsor
1993	Corki Rawlings	community leader/sponsor 7 good friend
1994	Art Gronsky	1959 escort captain, owner of Newport Pavilion
1995	Hal Rosoff	sponsor, restaurateur, "good pal"
1996	John Rader Jr.	BBCOCC founder/Catalina race director (16 yrs), Outrigger Canoe Club General Manager
1998	Tubby Kalama & Pavid Nuhiwa Sr.	son of Noah Kalama; participated in 1st Molokai
1999	Nappy Napoleon	paddling legend, first paddled Catalina in `60
2000	Tom Johnson	built 1 st California Malia canoes
2001	Buck Barton	double gold medal winner @ Seoul Olympics in flat water canoe & kayak
2002	Sandy Kahanamoku	Race Chairman and Treasurer, son of a founding father
2003	Jojo Toeppner	25th consecutive Molokai race
2004	Bill McGough	Cruzan Rum, sport promoter
2005	Ralph Morrow	Mayor of Avalon and supporter of the sport

2006	Buff Parker	escort and mooring commodore for over 20 years
2007	Bobby Woods	dedicated coach, artist and official
2008	Anthony Sully	Professor of instruction, behind the scenes director
2009	Tom Johnson/Crew of `59	builder of first fiberglass mold and those that accomplished the first event in California
2010		
2011	Jeane Barrett	dedicated paddler/official, Avalon lifeguard & firefighter